Princeton Research Forum is a community of independent scholars in the Princeton area. It was founded in 1980 by a group of scholars who were pursuing their own research outside of the academy. Their aim was to facilitate access to libraries and funding for independent researchers and to provide a forum for collegiality among the group’s membership. Since those early days, much has improved for independent scholars, in part due to the efforts of PRF founding members and to those of the National Coalition of Independent Scholars (www.ncis.org), with which PRF is affiliated.

Today, Princeton Research Forum (PRF) offers a diverse group of men and women scholars the opportunity to share their research interests, expertise, and creative endeavors in a supportive environment with other independent scholars. In addition to meeting monthly during the academic year, PRF members participate in ongoing study groups in the humanities, science/history of science, and poetry. Members gather for an annual general meeting and pot-luck dinner in the summer and a festive wine-and-cheese party in the fall.

Seven of PRF’s past presidents —Edith Jeffrey (the organization’s first president), Gloria Erlich, Larissa Onyshkevych, Ann Morgan, Diane Krumrey, Mary Beth Lewis, Priscilla Keswani, and Ashwini Mokashi—are active members in 2018.

Executive Officers – 2019-2021
President − Linda Holt
Vice President − Linda Arntzenius
Secretary − Roger Moseley
Treasurer − Joyce Irwin

Advisory Council
A number of distinguished independent and affiliated scholars serve on our advisory council. For each, only one of their many publications has been cited.

Natalie Zemon Davis, a Canadian and American historian of the early modern period, has been described as “one of the greatest living historians.” She has been awarded the Holberg International Memorial Prize and National Humanities Medal and  has been named Companion of the Order of Canada. She is currently an Adjunct Professor of History and Anthropology and Professor of Medieval Studies at the University of Toronto
Trickster Travels (2006)

Gillian Gill is an independent scholar and biographer of Agatha Christie, Mary Baker Eddy, Florence Nightingale, among others.
We Two: Victoria and Albert, Rulers, Partners, Rivals (2009)

Robert Kanigel, Professor of Science Writing, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is a biographer and science writer.
Eyes on the Street: The Life of Jane Jacobs (2016)

Stanley N. Katz, Director, Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Study, Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University and President Emeritus, American Council of Learned Societies;
Mobilizing for Peace: Conflict Resolution in Northern Ireland, Israel/Palestine and South Africa (2002)

Chiara R. Nappi, Professor Emerita, Physics Department, Princeton University, is a theoretical physicist who has made important contributions to a broad range of problems in modern particle theory.
Why Charter Schools? The Princeton Story (1999)

Richard Rhodes, is an independent scholar, historian and journalist known for both fiction and non-fiction (which he prefers to call “verity”).
The Making of the Atomic Bomb (1987), winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award

Theodore J. Ziolkowski, Class of 1900 Professor of German and Comparative Literature Emeritus. Princeton University and Dean Emeritus, The Graduate School, Princeton University;
The Mirror of Justice: Literary Reflections of Legal Crises (1997), winner of the Phi Beta Kappa Christian Gauss Award

PRF is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization chartered by the State of New Jersey.